Friday, October 02, 2009

Sooo...I was just told....

that I shouldn't have gotten married because I didn't take my husband's name outright....

Um okay....whatever...I know some people really think hyphenating is silly and that is fine...but to tell me in so many words that I shouldn't have gotten married because I won't bow down to the archaic tradition of taking his last name is just asinine. I know it is all an opinion thing but not having his last name at all or adding it by hyphenating doesn't make us girls any less married then those who take the last name.

It was a really difficult decision for me on what I wanted....I wanted his last name and he wanted me to take it...but it also didn't feel right to me...I love my last name....it is me and I look up to my mother....and she and my father have been married for 25+ years and she didn't take his last name...so I knew that having his last name outright wasn't a determining factor for a happy marriage.

At first B wasn't happy about it, but I think he came around when he saw how happy it made me and I think because he found out the kids would get his last name and my last name as one of their middle names...but really

WHATEVER

Monday, September 14, 2009

Things I Wish Were Cheaper

-Sephora make-up
I know I am girl but...sometimes it is nice to own nice make-up but make-up costing more then like $8-10 is just RIDICULOUS to me...just seems sooo pointless...but that doesn't mean a girl can't dream

Here are a few products I wouldn't mind owning:
http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P244901&categoryId=B10#ratingsReviewsTab
http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P187606&categoryId=RPYMAL&shouldPaginate=true although I guess visine works just as fine (and is A LOT cheaper)
I looked at the eyeshadow and I could get the same sort of thing for about 1/3-1/4 the price else where and is pretty much the same damn stuff
http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P133707&categoryId=S10505&shouldPaginate=true (but again why the hell does it HAVE to be $17, I mean for real)
In colors

  1. Covet
  2. Graffiti
  3. Rockstar
  4. Underground
2) OPI Nail Polish

Okay, I own ONE thing of nail polish...yes, ONE thing...and I love OPI nail polish but it is sooo freaking expensive...I can feed both of us for the price of one bottle...but alas, I covet some like some of these colors
  1. Skinny Dip'n in Lake Michg'n
  2. Gargantuan Green Grape
  3. Call My Cell-ery
  4. Green-wich Village
among others...yep

Saturday, September 12, 2009

On the Knit/Craft list

Knitting:

1) purple, steel blue and green stripped scarf
2) KSU illusion scarf
3) UNL illusion scarf
4) KU illusion scarf
5) something using the fluffy white yarn
6) Bella's Mittens -by Nov 20th
7) A handful of diagnol stripped scarves
8) something using the camo yarn

Craft:
1) Pumpkin floral thing
It would include a funkin or any sort of pumpkin sans its top, with some floral foam and then some fake flowers arranged and end up looking like this. I know that like Wal-Mart, Big Lots and the like sell them...but I have had this idea since LAST year...even told Brandon about it, so I am in belief they stole it from me...so yeah
2) Designs for Christmas ornaments
I am planning to design some Christmas ornaments to sell through my etsy account...plans include engagement/wedding rings, fun like decoupage balls and some other items like that....should be great, can't wait.
3) Design this years Christmas card
4) Start designing and purchasing stuff for my diy Christmas presents

Possible items on the block
1) The scarf Bella wears in the Baseball scene
which would end up looking something like this:

Yep, that is it

Monday, August 24, 2009

Random List of Things I Hate

Avoiding homework..yep..so here is a list


  1. Secret Life of the America Teenager If you watch this show I honestly now have no respect for you. I mean, I have seen better plots/acting etc in soap operas. Actually that is what it is...a soap opera for doppy teenage girls. I was sad when I ended up hating though because I love Molly Ringwald and was glad to see her back on screen..sad...Molly go do something with a little more clout or whatever.
  2. Class after 3:30 I mean is there really a point...probably not. Everybody is either tired or itchy to be somewhere else...and whenever I come home from them all I want to do is SLEEP...but can't because I have to do homework and the like to be in prep for the next day...blah
  3. Maintainence Right now the apartment complex maintainence is on my list of things I wish were improved and thusly hating. I have put in TWO requests to get our sink looked at NOTHING. I understand you are normally backed up and it is flip season in prep for all the college students...but I paid this months rent and our lease isn't technically up until the end of the month...and we have made it clear we plan to renew...that is NO excuse. I have sort of fixed the problem but I want a professional to look at and maybe put some plumbers putty or whatever to make sure the trap doesn't unscrew from the sink fitting again. Bah...and now our a.c. is having some problems...this is the a.c. we had fixed about 2 months ago...what are we to do?
There are probably more...but I draw a blank....so for now I shall just leave it at that...plus homework should happen...oh and THANK YOUS...gross...maybe I will take those to school with me and I can work on them during my break....that sounds like a plan

OHHH...I also hate the WuShock wireless...because I can never get it flipping work.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Need to rant a little

This is a completely selfish rant, but I think after I say my piece, I will be able to be in the right headspace to get some real studying in.


Todays rant will be about Research Methods for Psychology. Okay, this class is set up sooo dumb. The have lecture one day and then lab another...you rarely remember one thing for the other and visa versa -also both days are taught by different people. Another problem is that it is basically one HUGE repeat of like all my classes last sememster. It covers about 85% of the same stuff from my Research Methods for Criminal Justice class and like 95% of stuff from Statistics. Statistics, which I thought would kick my bum is a cake walk compared to Research Methods for Psychology. BAH!!! I go to class hoping and praying that for some reason it has to be canceled...technically difficulties with the computers, flooding in the lecture classroom...ANYTHING to get me out of the torture that is 2.5 hrs of complete boredom. I would rather sit through my 8 week Corrections class over again...where we just watched Bill Kurtis videos for 2 hours. We have a test today...and even though I have sat through the lectures, I don't remember discussing ANY of this....none of it. 

Okay, that makes me feel a little better...gotta get myself back into a good headspace to do a little bit more studying. Right now I would be okay with a C on this test...I really am not expecting anything better then a C in the class. Actuallly I don't think I will get anything better then a C in either of my T/R classes, but that rant is for another time and place.

Saturday, April 04, 2009

Some of my favorite songs at the current moment





Flightless Bird...it is in the movie Twilight near the end at the prom scene, I think it soo beautiful. The lyrics are strange, but still a BEAUTIFUL song


Half Life - Duncan Sheik. I have always loved this song when I heard it while watching "What a Girl Wants", it is just sooo gorgeous and so...idk, the lyrics are amazing.
Another beautiful song, orginally heard on a Scrubs episode. Well. yeah, I guess that is all

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Our 44th President: Obama

History was made today, an African American man took the oath of Presidency, something I was unsure of would ever happen in my lifetime. This election was also made history with the two nominees from the Democratic party, one a women, one an African American man.


Obama has a lot of work ahead of him, and no, contrary to the belief by the Conservatives we don't expect him to do all that he is promised. To make spectacular promises when campaigning (and not necessarily keeping them) is just POLITICS folks..McCain did it or would have done it, Bush did it, Clinton (both) did it, Nixon etc etc etc...we also don't expect them to all be fixed by tomorrow morning..most, if not all, of us know that there is work ahead, and I believe that it will be the conservative folks who will hold back many of the "promises" he made us.

This belief that Obama won because he is Black is just dumb and honestly a wee bit racist (in my belief). We could have almost predicted that whoever the Democratic nominee was would be the winner of this election...we have been under a Republican government for 8 years and many of us are run down to the ground financially, mentally etc...a Democratic change over was almost immanent. Obama is an eloquent speaker, well educated, knowledgeable and an asset in getting one of the most important groups of voters overlooked for years involved, youth.

McCain also played the popular card as well...he did this with his war record (yes, it is impressive and I am honored to have had him serve our country, but he did use it to his advantage)..he also used Palin...both as a card to capture the independents who were Clinton followers (although he failed, in my opinion) and to put a youthful face to his "White House office".

Obama has one of the highest going in approval ratings...is willing to learn and adapt ideas from past Presidents

Barack H. Obama: May you have great strength in the next four years. I feel my vote was not wasted on you and am filled with hope for change, no matter how small or big that change may be. 

Monday, January 05, 2009

Lunacy - the new FIRST challenge


That is Lunacy, the new challenge for FIRST. I do not envy the boys and girls of Viking Robotics (Team 1777) --even if I happen to be one myself-- because they have a grand task ahead of them. I am sure we will come up with something amazing...I am imaging an Odin like bot with some extras.  Le glee. 

Hopefully I will be able to get down for a Saturday..I will probably be able to after Jan. 20 b/c for the first six weeks of my Spring semester I do not have class on MWF...so yeah.

I really don't have much else to say now...I will be more insightful on my view of Lunacy but currently my brain is too tired..lol